Visions of Time

2022 DITMAR Preliminary ballot

Best Novel

  • All the Murmuring Bones, A.G. Slatter, Titan Books.
  • The Bridge, J.S. Breukelaar, Meerkat Press.
  • The Councillor, E.J. Beaton, DAW Books.
  • A Marvellous Light, Freya Marske, Tor.
  • Papa Lucy & The Boneman (Books of Before & Now 1), Jason Fischer, Outland Entertainment.
  • The Rose Daughter, Maria Lewis, Hachette Australia/Little Brown Books.
  • She Who Became the Sun, Shelley Parker-Chan, Tor.

Best Novella or Novelette

  • “Ariadne, I Love You”, J. Ashley-Smith, in Ariadne, I Love You, Meerkat Press.
  • “Dirty Heads”, Aaron Dries.
  • “Ghost Recall”, Alan Baxter, in Ghost Recall (Eli Carver 3), Grey Matter Press.
  • “The Little One”, Rebecca Fraser, in Coralesque and other tales to disturb and distract, IFWG Publishing Australia.
  • “A Vast Silence”, T.R. Napper, in The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, November/December 2021.

Best Short Story

  • “A Good Big Brother”, Matt Tighe, in Spawn: Weird Tales of Pregnancy, Birth and Babies, IFWG Australia.
  • “Goon of Fortune”, Geneve Flynn, in Midnight Echo 16.
  • “The House That Hungers”, Maria Lewis, in Aurealis No. 146, November 13 2021.
  • “The King in Yella”, Kaaron Warren, in Under Twin Suns: Alternate Histories of the Yellow Sign, Hippocampus Press.
  • “Legacy of the Species”, Pamela Jeffs, in The Terralight Collection, Four Ink Press.
  • “A Whisper in the Death Pit”, Kyla Lee Ward, in Weirdbook 44, Wildside Press.

Best Collected Work

  • Coralesque and Other Tales To Disturb and Distract, Rebecca Fraser, IFWG Publishing Australia.
  • The Gulp, Alan Baxter, 13th Dragon Books, self-published.
  • Relics, Wrecks & Ruins, Aiki Flinthart, CAT Press.
  • The Terralight Collection, Pamela Jeffs, Four Ink Press.
  • Tool Tales, Ellen Datlow and Kaaron Warren, IFWG Publishing Australia.

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  • Earl Grey Editing, Elizabeth Fitzgerald.
  • SF Commentary, Bruce Gillespie.

Best Fan Writer

  • Kat Clay, for interviews and reviews on YouTube and

Best Fan Artist

  • C.H. Pearce, for fan art on Instagram, including (Em and Gyre), (Lysande), (Cruelty Free), and (Rocket Launch Good).

Best Artwork


Best New Talent


William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review

  • Eugen Bacon, for Aurealis Reviews (editor and reviews).
  • Claire Fitzpatrick, for “How Mary Shelley Continues to Influence Modern Science Fiction”, in Aurealis 145.
  • Ian Mond, for reviews in Locus.
  • Andrew Nette and Iain McIntyre, for editing Dangerous Visions and New Worlds: Radical Science Fiction, 1950 to 1985, PM Press.
  • Kyla Lee Ward, for “Vampire Poetry”, in Penumbra 2, Hippocampus Press.


The Conflux & CSFG 2022 Short Story Competition 


Attention authors!

We want your stories of 4000 words or under, in any speculative fiction genre, on this year’s theme, which is ‘Visions of Time’.

The competition is open to all Australian residents and current members of Conflux. Entries can be sent to and the competition closes midnight Monday September 19th 2022.

Entry is $5, unless you are a member of Conflux or you are aged 16 or under, in which case it is free! (The entry fee can be paid at


First prize is $200 and a Conflux 2023 membership. Second prize is $50 and a discounted Conflux 2023 membership, and third prize is $25 and a discounted Conflux 2023 membership.


Stories should be written in English, suitable for a general audience (i.e., no gratuitous violence or erotica), and, of course, your own original, unpublished work.

Please submit them in the following format: RTF, double spaced, courier font, with the story title in the top right header.

Make the first page of your document a cover sheet that includes your name, contact details and story title (we will remove this before we give it to the judges). YOUR NAME MUST NOT APPEAR ON ANY OF THE OTHER PAGES OF THE STORY.












The Conflux & CSFG 2021 Short Story Competition Winners


First Place: Newbug © 2021 C.H. Pearce

Second Place: The Nothing © 2021 Tim Borella

Third Place: ‘Tween the Stars © 2021 Brad McNaughton


This collected work “Conflux & CSFG 2021 Short Story Competition Winners” is released under an Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs CC BY-NC-ND license. You may share this publication with others as long as you credit Conflux and the CSFG, but please don’t change this work in any way or use it commercially.